Deconstruction Cover


Deconstruction is the self-titled debut, and only official release from the band Deconstruction. It was released on July 12, 1994 by American Recordings. This is the first post-Jane’s Addiction work for both Eric Avery and Dave Navarro and was originally planned to include Jane’s Addiction drummer Stephen Perkins, however due to objections by Jane’s Addiction record label Warner Brothers, Stephen stepped aside and band friend Michael Murphy was brought aboard.

In the end, this album ended up being a one-off project for Eric Avery and Dave Navarro.  Dave was interested in touring to support the album, but Eric was not interested in touring at that time and choosing to continue focusing on remaining sober.  Additionally, a conflict over the band’s name arose with a U.K. band of the same name.  A messy legal battle was averted, however, after the U.K. band was assured that this was a one time effort and the band had no intentions of releasing any further material under the name Deconstruction.

This album is currently appears to be out of print.

Track Listing:

  1. L.A. Song
  2. Single
  3. Get At ‘Em
  4. Iris
  5. Dirge
  6. Fire in the Hole
  7. Son
  8. Big Sur
  9. Hope
  10. One
  11. America
  12. Sleepyhead
  13. Wait for History
  14. That is All
  15. Kilo


Eric Avery sings lead on most of the album, with Dave Navarro singing lead on Big Sur and singing background vocals on L.A. Song, Hope, One, and Get At ‘Em.   Gibby Haynes of the Butthole Surfers sings lead on Fire In The Hole.

Release Date: 07/12/1994
Released By: American Recordings
ID Number(s): 45544
Medium(s): Cassette, CD
Time: 71:13



Related Releases:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.