Natural Born Killers

Natural Born Killers Cover

Natural Born Killers (Soundtrack)

Natural Born Killers: A Soundtrack For An Oliver Stone Film is the soundtrack to the movie Natural Born Killers.  Released on August 23, 1994 by Nothing / Interscope Records, this soundtrack compilation was produced by Nine Inch Nails front man Trent Reznor.  Oliver Stone contacted Trent Reznor, and asked him to produce the movie’s soundtrack.  In an interview with MTV News, Trent Reznor said:

I suggested to Oliver [Stone] to try to turn the soundtrack into a collage-of-sound, kind of the way the movie used music: make edits, add dialog, and make it something interesting, rather than a bunch of previously released music.

The end product was a collection of songs, some written specifically for this movie, mixed and edited down with elements from the movie interspersed into the music.  The track Sex is Violent is a mix of  Jane’s Addiction song Ted, Just Admit It… and Diamanda Galas’ I Put A Spell On You.

Alternate Versions:

There are two promo versions of this soundtrack.  The first is the entire compilation in standard promotional packaging.  The next version is titled Selections From Natural Born Killers includes the Jane’s Addiction / Diamonda Galas song, along with three other songs from the soundtrack.  It also comes with traditional promo packaging.

The continental European versions of this soundtrack are titled Natural Born Killers – Music From And Inspired By Natural Born Killers – An Oliver Stone Film.  While the title is slightly different, the musical content is the same as the North American version.

A limited edition double 12″ vinyl version of this soundtrack was released in the U.K.

On December 8th, 2014, for the 20yr anniversary of this film and soundtrack, Music On Vinyl released a limited edition 180 gram 12″ double-vinyl version of this soundtrack. The first 2000 copies of this edition come on blood-red vinyl.

Track Listings:

  1. Waiting for the Miracle (Edit)
    Leonard Cohen
  2. Shitlist
  3. Moon Over Greene County (Edit)
    Dan Zanes
  4. Rock ‘N’ Roll Nigger (Flood Remix)
    Patti Smith
  5. Sweet Jane (Edit)
    Cowboy Junkies
  6. You Belong to Me
    Bob Dylan
  7. The Trembler (Edit)
    Duane Eddy
  8. Burn
    Nine Inch Nails
  9. Route 666
    “BB Tone” Brian Berdan (feat. Robert Downey Jr.)
  10. Totally Hot
    Kipenda Roho Remmy Ongala & Orchestre Super Matimila
  11. Back In Baby’s Arms
    Pasti Cline
  12. Taboo (Edit)
    Peter Gabriel / Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan
  13. Sex is Violent
    Jane’s Addiction / Diamonda Galas
  14. History (Repeats Itself) (Edit)
  15. Something I Can Never Have (Edited and Extended)
    Nine Inch Nails
  16. I Will Take You Home
    Russel Means
  17. Drums a Go-Go (Edit)
    Hollywood Persuaders
  18. Hungry Ants
    Barry Adamson
  19. The Day the Niggaz Took Over
    Dr. Dre
  20. Born Bad
    Juliette Lewis
  21. Fall of the Rebel Angels (Edit)
    Sergio Cervetti
  22. Forkboy
  23. Batonga in Batongavill
    Budapest Philharmonic Orchestra
  24. A Warm Place (Edit)
    Nine Inch Nails
  25. Allah, Mohammed, Char, Yaar
    Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan & Party / Diamonda Galas
  26. The Future (Edit)
    Leonard Cohen
  27. What Would U Do?
    Tha Dogg Pound


  1. Shitlist
  2. Forkboy
  3. Rock ‘N’ Roll Nigger (Flood Remix)
    Patti Smith
  4. Sex Is Violent
    Jane’s Addiction / Diamanda Galas

Release Date: 08/23/1994, 12/08/2014 (Music on Vinyl Re-Release)
Released By: Nothing / Interscope, Simply Vinyl (Vinyl), Music On Vinyl (2014 Re-Release)
ID Number(s): INTD-92460, PRCD-5895 (Promo), PRCD-5900 (Sampler), IND 92460, 492 460 (Europe), 6544-92460-2 (Germany), SVLP 118 (Vinyl), MVCP 15 (Japan)
Medium(s): CD, Double 12″ Vinyl, iTunes, Amazon MP3, 180 gram Double 12″ Vinyl, Blood-Red 180 gram Double 12″ Vinyl
Time: 57:37, 15:46 (Sampler)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.